Rommel Guevara and His Music


Mahal na mahal kita Panginoon

Mahal na mahal kita Panginoon

Kailanmay di kita ipagpapalit

Pagkat sa piling Mo’y langit

Mahal na mahal kita Panginoon

Habangbuhay papupurihan Ka

Habangbuhay maglilingkod Sayo

Habangbuhay papuri ko Say’oy iaalay

Translation (to the best of my knowledge) :

I love you very much Lord

I love you very much Lord

Never will I trade You

Because with you, it feels like heaven

I love you very much Lord

Forever I will praise You

Forever I will serve You

Forever my praises to you I will give

The man behind “Mahal na Mahal Kita Panginoon,” Pastor Rommel Guevara, has been a great influence to Filipino Christians through music. He was our guest artist for our Worship Explosion (held every end of the year). He was with his wife, Susan and his band. It was such a great feeling to see and hear him tell what he truly believes. I grew up listening to his songs and heard about this “Celebrate Jesus”.

Who would ever thought I will meet the composer of almost a cult song in the Philippines? Cult – because even the natives, living in remote areas knew the song). We were astounded to the fact that he accepted the invitation in a sweet tiny pinch of chance. It was really God who moved.

Nonetheless, it’s the truth he told us after his set. He sang four praise and worship songs, English and Tagalog.  He touched a lot of issues including grace, legalism, liberation, love and passion for music. He talked about revelation of grace and told touching, encouraging true-to-life miracle stories.

With the song opening this entry, he revealed to us that it is an almost impossible song. He said it is a song convicting others because the fact that we really can’t do “love the Lord a hundred percent” is a hit on someone’s face. Closing it, he pointed out,“The law disqualifies, God qualifies.” It made an impact on me. Indeed, it was all grace.

It was a night of worship for all of us. A good thing to end the year.

3 responses to “Rommel Guevara and His Music

Leave a comment